On This Day: Sheffield Wednesday 2-0 Middlesbrough

On this day in 2013, Sheffield Wednesday beat Middlesbrough to secure survival in the Championship.

First-half goals from Steve Howard and Leroy Lita gave Sheffield Wednesday a win against Middlesbrough as the Owls made sure of Championship survival. The hosts could have been relegated if they had not won and other results went against them on a dramatic final day. But Howard gave Wednesday an early lead, firing a shot which went in off the underside of the crossbar.

Middlesbrough, without an away win in 2013, conceded a second when Leroy Lita headed in from Lewis Buxton’s corner. Wednesday end their season 18th in the table – four points above the drop zone – with this victory, their first in five games, coming in front of a crowd of 31,375 at Hillsborough. They went ahead in the ninth minute when Howard scored his first goal for the club since joining on loan from Hartlepool. The big striker ran on to an incisive low ball from Seyi Olofinjana and powered an effort past Middlesbrough goalkeeper Jason Steele.

Curtis Main was Boro’s only threat and he dragged an attempt across goal after he had twisted to create space for the opening. However, Wednesday doubled their lead just after the half-hour mark as Buxton’s inswinging corner was glanced home by Lita in a packed six-yard box. Boro offered more after the break and Christian Burgess headed narrowly over from Grant Leadbitter’s corner, although the result never looked in doubt.

Wednesday fans ran on to the pitch at the end of the match as they celebrated maintaining their Championship status, while Peterborough filled the final relegation place after losing 3-2 at Crystal Palace. Middlesbrough had been in the play-off places at the start of 2013, but only won three of their last 21 league matches to end the season 16th, one point and two places above their opponents.


Leroy Lita(fourth right) celebrates his goal with his team mates.



Sheffield Wed

  • 01 Kirkland
  • 02 Buxton
  • 04 Gardner
  • 19 Pugh
  • 32 Llera
  • 11 J Johnson (Lee – 46′ )
  • 15 Helan
  • 23 Olofinjana (Semedo – 56′ )
  • 25 Prutton
  • 24 Lita (Maguire – 85′ )
  • 29 Howard


  • 43 Bywater
  • 03 R Johnson
  • 05 Taylor
  • 06 Semedo
  • 20 Lee
  • 09 Madine
  • 10 Maguire



  • 01 Steele
  • 02 Hoyte
  • 03 Bikey Booked
  • 14 Williams
  • 18 Halliday (Reach – 66′ )
  • 07 Leadbitter
  • 19 Carayol (Morris – 66′ )
  • 33 Smallwood (Gibson – 55′ )
  • 35 Burgess
  • 23 Main
  • 27 McDonald


  • 32 Leutwiler
  • 25 Reach
  • 40 Gibson
  • 29 Morris
  • 38 Haroun
  • 11 Ledesma
  • 22 Williams

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s